Tags

,

image

we had such a wonderful weekend filled with parties, a picnic and some pretty makeup in-between. I am always searching for new traditions to start with my kids, so I decided to let izzi pick out a birthday cake that I would make for her. she asked for a rainbow cake and mama made one major rainbow cake! (I followed this amazing recipe here.) I was pretty happy with the end result and it definitely had wow factor! I also got to catch up with a dear cousin who came to town for our family picnic. I mean talk about traditions, our grandmother’s family has been doing this picnic for 79 years! we stayed up until 1am watching some great, old videos of the family, reminiscing about all of the good and crazy memories growing up with our other 56 cousins (that alone takes awhile) and just catching up on our own lives as adults. family is kind of like the rainbow cake, filled with lots of different layers and a little complicated, but when you put love and patience in, it all comes together and you get something pretty special!

