Tags

, , , , , , , ,

window

I promise, this is not blog abandonment but I’ve been on a social media sabbatical. I cant seem to wrap my brain around, nor quite articulate the complete shit storm we have been dealing with over the past few months. here is the short of it….for some reason unknown and to which no one will take responsibility for, we have a massive mold outbreak in our home. we have dealt with everything from destruction, displacement and disappointment to theft and even threats. to say it’s been overwhelming is an understatement. I’m not at liberty to say much more but we do have a lawyer and lots of liqueur to find some solace in the situation.

I fully acknowledge the old sayings that it can be worse or that things can be replaced. and it is a little cleansing and therapeutic to purge some of the past. but there are the things I can never get back.. like the box of costume jewelry I inherited from ed’s beloved grandmother Elizabeth (izzi’s namesake), who was the most incredible, kind, liveliest of women. it contained nothing precious, in fact, much of it was broken pieces and buttons. but  I cherished that box because for the seventeen years since she passed it still smelled like her perfume….and now it smells of musty mold. or my special collection of vintage clothing collected for twenty plus years, mostly from my maternal grandparents….gone. it’s someone’s gross negligence that has uprooted my family and caused a complete clusterf*ck.

for now, we are staying with my parents. the little birds are little troopers- they terribly miss their toys and room but they truly enjoy the quality time with noni and papa. for us, these things are definitely one of those ‘for better or for worse’ tests and my heart bursts with even more eternal love for him. while I am the emotional rollercoaster, he has taken on the brunt of the bull. and what’s funny is that we are sleeping in the same bedroom we were never allowed to go in as teenagers when we first met. we laugh because I never would have imagined twenty three years later we would be welcomed to the same room and share it with a three year old bed hog lol. needless to say, that laughter gets us through the darkest days. ed reminds me to look out the same window as I did when we were kids and still dream of all the beautiful things that will come true. outside it, I find a colourful playhouse and toys of the beautiful creatures we already have.

thank you to our family and friends for your love and support. thanks to all who follow our mad adventures with humor and loyalty. be back soon.

xoxo s

ps. a client recently told me about this song…. overwhelmed by tim mcmorris. I never believe in coincidence- it’s so poignant and pretty. I hope it inspires you too.

pps. please check out my pretty pregnant pal yanira’s mommy blogs over on babble.com. when I told her of my troubles she literally gave me the jewelry off her neck. she is sassy and stylish and so deservingly needs our support!