Tags

, , , , , , , ,

image

I love pretty packaging, anything french, and especially smell worthy. recently, I took a little sensory journey through some beautiful perfumes and candles. my trip abruptly ended when I realized the ugly little price tags on my pretty little things. but…I wouldn’t trade all of the most exquisite perfumes or candles in the world for the baby fresh smell of my three little birds cuddled in my arms.
I totally understand, most of us today are like me, a recessionista. and as a makeup artist, the second most common question I am asked (the first being how to do a smoky eye, but I’ll save that one for a rainy day) is, ‘what products should I spend money on?’ my answer is consistently three things…foundation, skincare and tools. these items can be an investment, but I promise, it makes the most difference in the application. now, I don’t claim to be the makeup police (well not all the time) nor can I come to everyone’s house for a well being check, but I feel in these categories you do get what you pay for.
remember, it’s good to stay with an artistry line, especially for brushes. in other words, a company founded by a reputable makeup artist. besides, I’m always amazed at how someone can find the perfect foundation color without trying it on, ie at the drugstore! my personal favorites are bobbi brown, MAC, makeup for ever and nars. I also love sonia kashuk and jemma kidd, both available at target and extremely budget savvy.

send me your most pressing makeup questions, I’d love to help! xoxo s

