Tags

, , , , ,

today, I write with a heavy heart for the tragedy at the sandy hook elementary school in newtown, connecticut.  words cannot express the emotions I have for these children, their beloved teachers and staff that were senselessly taken or the unimaginable agony of loss for the victims family and friends.  our izzi is in kindergarten. she was home sick today. I laid with her in bed as she fell asleep for a nap. tears streaming down, I held her tight and thought about how much she loves school. how she dreams of her holiday program next week. how she makes crafts and pictures and treats for her teacher.  how she cannot wait to play princesses or ride the bus with her classmates. and how much I love 3:15pm, when that yellow bus turns the corner of our street and with her smiling face she skips off, telling me all about her day. but I can only think that tonight, the twenty parents who said goodbye to their own little birds this morning, where they were to be safe at school, will not get to tuck them in to bed. I tip toe through the house, table still covered in frosting from the gingerbread house, tripping on cars, passing a pile of laundry, to peak in one more time at my precious angels as they sleep. I am so incredibly grateful for the humble life and love we have.

I wont watch any more news, nor do I want any more details. I dont have the answers but I recall the words of the ancient greek playwright aeschylus, that the late robert f kennedy spoke to a crowd following the assassination of martin luther king, jr, ‘even in our sleep, pain which cannot forget falls drop by drop upon the heart until, in our own despair, against our will, comes wisdom through the awful grace of God.’ he then ‘encouraged the country to “dedicate ourselves to what the greeks wrote so many years ago: to tame the savageness of man and to make gentle the life of this world.”

peace, prayers and love to all.

xoxo s

